act 328 · siamgda · oppression · cd

01 wide land of ruins
02 march over icy deserts
03 lost runaway
04 asian slave bazaar
05 thousand arms for a headless mind
06 oppression
07 fading
08 under the shadow
09 gory
10 last body
11 mourner

upc 821272215127
release date: 29october2k15

written and produced by marc fischer.
recorded between 2013 and 2014 in india and nepal.
mastered by eric van wonterghem at prodam berlin.
photography by marc fischer. layout by stefan alt.
lyrics on 'last body' from 'poems of early buddhist nuns'

'to all oppressed minds, different ideologies, beliefs and societies shape us, dictate how humans should live and appear, be or not be ... this spreads confusion, fear and destruction, keeps us controlled, imprisoned and separated, blocking the full expansion of our consciousness. may patience and compassion light our way and freedom be our future!' - siamgda -

on his second album for ant-zen, 'oppression', marc fischer a.k.a. siamgda continues to tread the path that began with 'tremors': a unique and captivating mixture of acoustic ethnic sounds and electronic soundscapes ranging from ambient to noise, with the emphasis on looped tribal percussion. on ‘oppression’ this german artist generates a wide scale of moods between trance, unease and wariness. dense, repetitive textures and even borrowed elements from the characteristic krautrock rhythm 'motorik' carry the catchy musical motifs based on native sounds recorded in india and nepal, and all this is then enriched with subtle changes which become clear after repeated, intensive listening.

this release connects industrial roughness with beat-structured hypnosis, riveting drumming with tailor-made samples and lo-fi production elements with an intoxicating live feel. highly recommended.

siamgda discography 10.2k15:
oppression. cd. ant-zen act328. 2015
tremors. cd. ant-zen act312. 2014
at god's feet. digital album. mind plug records mpr20. 2013
tribal gathering. digital album. mind plug records mpr07. 2011
beach tracks (feat. morty). digital album. mind plug records mpr02. 2010
samsara. digital album. mind plug records mpr01. 2010


back - next - overview